Gluterra - gluten-free and healthy

Click here to get a FREE GF Substitution Guide!

Gluten-Free Food List

The problem in giving a definitive gluten-free (GF) list is that gluten-free not only relates to what items contain gluten or not, but also it relates to how an item is processed. Items processed in a facility and on equipment that is shared with gluten-containing foods are not considered GF. With that in mind, here are three lists as a good starting point to learn what foods have gluten and which do not:

Ingredients CONTAINING Gluten (Avoid on a GF diet)

    Foods you should not eat on a gluten-free diet
  • Wheat
  • Barley
  • Rye
  • Malt (malt vinegar, malt flavorings, etc.)
  • Triticale (hybrid of wheat and rye)
  • Kamult
  • Semolina
  • Spelt
  • Bulgar
  • Farina
  • Flour (Durum flour, baking flour, cake flour, all-purpose flour, bread flour, etc.)


Popular foods that contain these gluten ingredients and should typically be AVOIDED (unless labeled GF):

  • Pasta
  • Bread
  • Pizza
  • Pancakes
  • Crackers
  • Cookies
  • Cakes
  • Pies
  • Soy sauce
  • Sauces (frozen or from a restaurant)
  • Ketchup
  • Ice cream
  • Some dental and cosmetic products (lip balm, lipstick and anything that might possibly touch your lips even by accident)
  • Pickles and pickled veggies if they contain malt vinegar
  • Hot dogs
  • Mexican tortillas (unless made from corn)
  • Hot chocolate
  • French fries (if prepared in the same oil and with other gluten-containing ingredients)
  • Breaded and fried items like breaded shrimp, fish, chicken strips, etc.
  • Wheat-free items (not necessarily gluten-free)
  • Bouillon cubes
  • Soups
  • Medicine and Vitamins


Gluten-free Ingredients/Foods (Okay on a GF diet)

    Foods that should be okay to eat on a gluten-free diet
  • Meats like beef, pork, and lamb (unless cooked, processed or breaded with gluten containing items)
  • Fish and poultry (unless cooked or processed with gluten containing items)
  • Eggs
  • Most dairy products
  • Unprocessed Nuts and seeds
  • Beans and peas
  • All types of fruits
  • All types of vegetables
  • Amaranth
  • Arrowroot
  • Buckwheat (not a typo, it's gluten-free even though it has the word wheat)
  • Corn (cornmeal, hominy, corn tortillas, etc.)
  • Flax
  • GF Flour including (chickpea, soy, corn, rice, potato, bean, etc.)
  • Quinoa
  • Millet
  • Sorghum
  • Soy
  • Tapioca
  • Distilled spirits like wine and hard liquor (however, some wine coolers and bottled mixed-liquor drinks have ingredients with gluten)

It's important to make sure that these items are not processed or mixed with gluten-containing grains, additives or preservatives.


Suspect Foods (okay ONLY if specifically labeled GF)

    Foods that are questionable on a gluten-free diet
  • Medicines (some can use gluten as a binding agent)
  • Beer (the vast majority of brands contain gluten)
  • Oats and Oatmeal (many brands are contaminated by processing)
  • Bread, bagels, rolls, toast
  • Cake
  • Pie
  • Candy
  • Cereal
  • Cookies
  • Crackers
  • Croutons
  • French fries (check the oil it is fried in to see if it is shared with gluten foods)
  • Gravy
  • Imitation meat or seafood
  • Matzo
  • Pasta
  • Processed deli meat
  • Salad dressing
  • Sauces, including soy sauce
  • Seasoned rice mixes
  • Seasoned snack foods, such as potato and tortilla chips
  • Self-basting poultry
  • Soups and soup bases
  • Vegetables, or really anything, in sauce

The key is to be an avid label-reader and allow time at the grocery store for you to be able to do that. Also, be prepared to ask a lot of chefs at restaurants what different items on the menu contain, especially broths, soups, sauces, etc.